#housematelyf

This week we decided to kick our housemate out.

A fairly hard thing to do seeing as he is our friend, someone we’ve known for over 7 years, and will be going to uni with us for the next 4 years.

But, it was a necessary evil. For me, at least. My (ex) housemate’s presence alone would bring down my mood and leave me with little option other than to reside in my room pretending to do uni work (but probably not because, y’know, procrastination). His (ex) room is was also right beside mine, meaning he could basically hear everything I was doing. Albeit, I don’t do much other than type very loudly and shuffle papers around, but it did make me very uncomfortable. And visa-versa, every week (2 full days a week his girlfriend would stay over, making her the 5th housemate we never, ever wanted). This only really became a problem because we’re in such a small house and we’re all friends. Still – a problem none-the-less. I could hear the details of his and his girlfriends’ sexual life. Which is something I don’t want to hear, not because I’m not okay with it, but because it’s incredibly distracting (guys, I’m trying to integrate over here) and it’s none of my business. (T)he(y) also started doing drugs which, on top of being a mood-killer, bad cook and overall untidy person, was the tipping point. He had to go.

You probably don’t want to hear me complaining about my now ex-housemate. And I don’t really want to complain about him, he’s a great guy with a big heart – and we all have our faults. But my point is that even though some decisions are hard, they must be made. Get rid of the toxic people in your life. Do the things that make you happy.  It’s probably going to hurt others – but in the long run, it probably leaves everyone involved better off.

Leave a Reply

